Today 11. May 2019 – 31. Dec 2025

Dresden Waste Manifesto

Place: Dresden

One moment please,
the images are loading …

BECAUSE EVERYTHING REMAINS…

We are on the threshold of a civilization that no longer pollutes its environment with garbage and avoids turning resources into waste. It’s up to us to cross this threshold. Two reasons make the decision for a sustainable future inevitable:

  1. In times of climate change and a lack of resources, it is no longer sustainable to incinerate and deposit garbage at locations that will be made inhospitable for an unforeseeable period of time. There is no more room for waste. Not on the outskirts of our cities, not in regions of poverty, not in the soil, the oceans or the atmosphere.
  2. The technologies that can complete material cycles and the knowledge of how to apply them exist. The use of used goods, the recycling of valuable materials and the utilization of renewable resources allow the materials gained from the richness of the earth to be permanently used or fed back into the natural cycle.

The organizers of the Capital of Culture Dresden 2025 commit to the principle of consistent waste reduction, curbing the use of material resources and minimizing “residual waste.” To achieve this goal, they follow these guiding principles:

 

MOBILITY

Reduce CO2 emissions

The Capital of Culture recommends taking trains and busses to Dresden. If participants travel by plane, CO2 compensation measures are supported. The Capital of Culture offers its guests and citizens free mobility via trains, busses and bicycles. Until 2025, the State Capital of Dresden will largely convert its own vehicle fleet to climate-neutral engines.

 

PURCHASING AND BUIDING

Invest in cycles

Prior to new purchases, it will be checked whether existing things can be used or required things can be borrowed. When purchasing new goods and awarding construction contracts, their eco-friendliness must be verified. As far as possible, stage, exhibition and other constructions will be made of recycled building materials or structural components that can be disassembled and used again to 100 per cent after the event.

 

INFORMATION

Communicate without paper

The Capital of Culture gives information on its program digitally and accessibly. The distribution of printed matter is reduced to a minimum, with a preference for recycled paper, paper from sustainable forestry and mineral oil-free printing inks.

 

CATERING

Shorten paths, avoid packaging

By using regional and seasonal food items, the caterers shorten transportation paths and reduce energy consumption. If possible, disposable packaging is to be totally dispensed with. Beverages are served in deposit or returnable bottles. At all venues, fountains with free drinking water are available for the visitors. The caterers commit to giving unused food items to projects that process them further.

 

HYGIENE AND CLEANING

No chemicals into the sewage

The organizers and their service contractors exclusively use biodegradable cleaning agents.  Water closets or composting toilets are installed for large-scale events. Cotton towels or electric hand dryers are used for drying hands.

 

WHAT STILL REMAINS

Separate and recycle

The waste that can’t be avoided is collected separately and recycled, if possible. Containers for paper, lightweight packaging, glass, and residual waste are available at all venues.

 

ACT TOGETHER

Support commitment

The Department for Waste Management advises the organizers on how they can avoid or reduce waste. A jury for sustainability will award companies, initiatives and citizens that have implemented the Dresdner Waste Manifesto in an especially committed and consistent way.

Heute 11. Mai 2019 – 31. Dez 2025

DRESDNER MÜLLMANIFEST

Ort: Dresden

Einen Moment bitte,
die Bilder werden geladen …

WEIL ALLES BLEIBT …

Wir stehen vor der Schwelle zu einer Zivilisation, die ihre Umwelt nicht mehr durch Abfälle belastet und es vermeidet, Ressourcen zu Müll werden zu lassen. Es liegt an uns, ob wir diese Schwelle überschreiten. Zwei Gründe machen die Entscheidung für eine nachhaltige Zukunft unausweichlich:

  1. Das Verbrennen und Ablagern von Müll an Orten, die dadurch auf unabsehbare Zeit lebensfeindlich belastet sind, ist in Zeiten des Klimawandels und des Ressourcenmangels nicht mehr tragbar. Für Müll ist kein Platz mehr. Nicht an den Rändern der Städte, nicht in den Regionen der Armut, nicht in den Böden, den Ozeanen, der Atmosphäre.
  2. Die Technologien, die Stoffkreisläufe schließen können, und das Wissen um ihre Anwendung sind vorhanden. Verwendung gebrauchter Güter, Recycling wertvoller Materialien und der Einsatz nachwachsender Rohstoffe machen es möglich, die aus dem Reichtum der Erde gewonnenen Stoffe dauerhaft zu nutzen oder in die Kreisläufe der Natur zurückzuführen.

Die VeranstalterInnen der Kulturhauptstadt Dresden 2025 bekennen sich zum Prinzip konsequenter Abfallminimierung, reduzieren den Einsatz von Material-Ressourcen und minimieren das Hinterlassen von „Restmüll“. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, orientieren sie sich an den folgenden Handlungsmaximen:

MOBILITÄT: CO2-Emissionen verringern

Für die Reise nach Dresden empfiehlt die Kulturhauptstadt die Fahrt mit Bahnen und Bussen. Wenn Mitwirkende mit dem Flugzeug anreisen, werden Maßnahmen zur CO2-Kompensation unterstützt. Die Kulturhauptstadt schenkt ihren Gästen und BürgerInnen kostenlose Mobilität mit Bahnen, Bussen und Fahrrädern. Die Landeshauptstadt Dresden stellt bis 2025 die eigene Fahrzeugflotte auf weitgehend klimaneutrale Antriebe um.

BESCHAFFEN UND BAUEN: In Nachhaltigkeit investieren

Vor Neuanschaffungen wird geprüft, ob Vorhandenes genutzt oder die benötigten Dinge geliehen werden können. Bei Beschaffung neuer Güter und Vergabe von Bauleistungen ist deren Umweltfreundlichkeit nachzuweisen. Bühnen-, Ausstellungs- und andere Bauten werden möglichst aus recycelten Baustoffen oder aus Bauteilen errichtet, die nach der Veranstaltung zu 100 Prozent demontiert und wiederverwendet werden können.

INFORMATION: Papierlos kommunizieren

Die Kulturhauptstadt informiert über ihr Programm digital und barrierefrei. Die Verteilung von Drucksachen bleibt auf ein Mindestmaß beschränkt. Dabei werden Recyclingpapier, Papier aus nachhaltiger Wald-wirtschaft und mineralölfreie Farben bevorzugt.

CATERING: Wege verkürzen, Verpackung vermeiden

Mit regionalen und saisonalen Lebensmitteln verringern die Caterer Transportwege und Energieverbrauch. Auf Einwegverpackungen wird möglichst vollständig verzichtet. Getränke werden in Pfand- oder Mehrweggefäßen ausgegeben. An großen Veranstaltungsorten finden die BesucherInnen Brunnen mit kostenlosem Trinkwasser. Die Caterer verpflichten sich, nicht verbrauchte Lebensmittel Projekten zu übergeben, die diese weiterverarbeiten.

HYGIENE UND REINIGUNG: Keine Chemie ins Abwasser

Die VeranstalterInnen und ihre DienstleisterInnen verwenden ausschließlich biologisch abbaubare Reinigungsmittel. Bei Großveranstaltungen werden mobile Wasserklosetts oder Komposttoiletten aufgestellt. Zum Trocknen der Hände dienen Stoffhandtücher oder elektrische Händetrockner.

WAS TROTZDEM ABFÄLLT: Trennen und Recyceln

Der Müll, der sich nicht vermeiden lässt, wird getrennt gesammelt und nach Möglichkeit recycliert. An den Veranstaltungsorten stehen Abfallbehälter für Papier, Leichtverpackungen, Glas und Restmüll bereit.

GEMEINSAM HANDELN: Engagement unterstützen

Die Abteilung für Abfallwirtschaft berät die VeranstalterInnen dabei, wie sie Müll vermeiden oder reduzieren können. Eine Jury für Nachhaltigkeit zeichnet VeranstalterInnen, Firmen, Initiativen und BürgerInnen aus, die das Dresdner Müll-Manifest besonders engagiert und konsequent umgesetzt haben.